waterblogged

What is it about water that draws us humans so strongly? 
Oh sure, we need it to survive, it’s in every cell of our body, etc.  But you could say that about Sodium, too, and no one is getting all metaphysical over it.  We long to live near water.  It’s the number one draw for vacations, whether in the form of rivers, lakes, oceans, pools, or snow.  It is possibly the most foolishly wasted precious commodity when money trumps sense (Exhibit A:  Las Vegas). 

But what IS it about this simple molecule, merely an oxygen atom bonded to two hydrogen atoms, that gives us such strong feelings of peace and pleasure?

I personally have no good answers to this (sorry if you were hoping for them).  But I, too, feel its pull.  True, I spent my formative years on a small island, surrounded by the beautiful Salish Sea, but I’ve come to realize that doesn’t make me more strongly attracted to water than others; it just makes me luckier.  I know I’m not the only one who lies restless in bed on full-moon nights, pulled in some way beyond my understanding by the tides within.

 

Beyond the obvious gotta-have-it-to-live aspects, what would you miss about water if for some reason it was no longer available to us?  What is it about water that draws you in deeper, perhaps even spiritual ways?  And with that in mind, what can you commit to in order to keep it clean, drinkable, swimable? 

Today is Blog Action Day.  The topic this year is Water.  Go drink a glass of it and think about all the different things it means to you.

~ by Sweet Alchemy on October 15, 2010.

Leave a comment